Living Simply By Sara Orem

6 Interconnected Themes

Choices

Balance

Simplicity

Vocation Harmony Wisdom

In many ways it has always been easier to act as if there were not options; as if we didn’t have a choice.

I am grateful that I have choices, and I will exercise them to sustain and enhance my life.

I would like it to be different, but it can’t be now.

Today I will do one thing that moves me towards where I want to be.

Simplicity…is a characteristic of mind tat cannot be judged by appearances. It is an integration, a stability, a settledness, a straightforwardness, a purity of the mind that is often expressed in a simpler life-style- a simpler diet, a more orderly routine, a more intelligent use of time, less clutter, less financial chaos, fewer involvements – in other words, less world and more peace.

Why should we not meet, not always as dyspeptics, to tell our bad dreams, but sometimes as eupeptics, to congratulate each other on the ever-glorious morning? I do not make an exorbitant demand, surely.

Live… be you… enjoy… love…

To live plainly is to distinguish what you desire and what is in your best interest.

Angels can fly because they take themselves lightly.

In order to be utterly happy the only thing necessary is to refrain from comparing this moment with the other moments in the past, which I often did not fully enjoy because I was comparing them with the other moments of the future.

If I am content with what I have, I can live simply and enjoy both prosperity and free time. I want to spend ten minutes today appreciating something about my life that already exists, something that makes me content.

Our constant problem is how to live with people and remain free, how to live with things and remain independent.

Everyday we do things, we are things, that have to do with peace. If we are aware of our lifestyle, our way of consuming, of looking at things, we will know how to make peace right in the moment we are alive, the present moment. Morning, teach my heart the bird song, the wind rustle, the light playing on waves and windowsills. Teach me peace.

Consciously be grateful for the ood in your life… Be thankful for little things, big things, everything. For love, choices, family, opportunities to serve, cats, community, celebrations, waterfalls, sunshine, forgiveness, birds, spring, friends, favourite foods, grace, gratitude.

Why do we always want the things we cannot have? Why do we not avail ourselves of those things which we can have for the asking: the beauty of the countryside, the colors of the flowers, the magic of snowflakes, the liveliness of clouds passing in the sky above us, the sparkle of the stars shining in the silent night? Why are we not content with our riches? Enjoy something you have instead of wishing you could enjoy something you don’t have.

~ by antinomian on December 23, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
